Croissants

A buttery, flaky bread roll sometimes shaped as crescents – that’s croissant. It is a yeast-leavened dough that you fold many times to get the flaky layers when baked.
I love home made croissants cos dey are crispy on the outside and soft and buttery in the layers. It’s very hard to get good croissants in bakeries.
I bought the butter sheet from Phoon Huat and was amazed at the price. It was only $5 per 1 kg sheet! I remembered buying at $12 per sheet before!
Croissant dough must be kept cold at all times, so I had to do the rolling in an air-cond room. I find the rolling of dough very therapeutic and that’s one of the reasons why I enjoy making croissants.
A book fold and single fold, lots of rest in between folds and the dough is ready to be cut and rolled into little croissants.

20130404-215029.jpg

20130404-215045.jpg
And a 2-hour proofing, and you get fat and wiggly croissant dough.

20130404-215211.jpg

20130404-215226.jpg
Next step is to egg wash them and bake in the oven.

20130404-215343.jpg
Voila! Nicely browned croissants, light and fluffy.

20130404-215456.jpginteresting shapes I got there!
And the cross-section?

20130404-215551.jpgSee the layers? And the honeycombed structure. Could be better but I’m extremely happy with my croissants.

Leave a Reply

